The World Forum on Democracy & Peace 2023

"Growing Threats for Democracy Around the World"

(Berlin; February 15-18th, 2023) – Held Parallel to the Berlin Film Festival 2023

Speakers & Delegates

Speakers during the forum will include leading politicians, senior diplomats, governmental officials, senior academics, journalists, and celebrated artists. These speakers will include a large number of individuals from the ICD Advisory Board. To learn more about the ICD Advisory Board, please click here.

Speakers for the conference will include among others the following dignitaries:

François Fillon
Prime Minister of France (2007-12)
Irina Bokova
Director-General of UNESCO 2009-17
Mary Lou McDonald
President of the Sinn Féin Party, Ireland
Dalia Grybauskaitė
President of Lithuania (2009-19)
Michael Howard
Leader of the UK Conservative Party (2003-5)
Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca
President of Malta (2014-19)
Sahra Wagenknecht
Member of the German Parliament
Peer Steinbrück
Chancellor-Candidate of the Social Democratic Party (2013)
Thomas Silberhorn
Member of the German Parliament
María Elena Agüero
Secretary General of the Club de Madrid
Michèle Alliot-Marie
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of France
Nicola Beer
Vice-President of the European Parliament
Moncef Marzouki
President of Tunisia 2011-14
Ahmed bin Mohamed Al Jarwan
President of the Global Council for Tolerance and Peace, UAE
Hassan Diab
Prime Minister of Lebanon 2020-21
Gjorge Ivanov
President of North Macedonia (2009-19)
Pedro Silva Pereira
Vice-President of the European Parliament
Emil Constantinescu
President of Romania 1996-2000
Eva-Maria Liimets
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Denitsa Dimitrova Simeonova
Chairperson of the Committee on EU Affairs of Bulgaria
Estelle Youssouffa
Member of the National Assembly of France
Kremena Milenova Kuneva
Member of the Bulgarian National Assembly
Salima Belhaj
Member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands
Lina Lopes
Member of the Assembly of Portugal
Ali Ahmad Jalali
Former Interior Minister of Afghanistan
Hamid Karzai
Former President of Afghanistan
Mohammad Hanif Atmar
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Afghanistan
Hans Köchler
President of the International Progress Organization (IPO)
Supachai Panitchpakdi
Former Director General of the WTO
Yehuda Bauer
Former Head of the International Institute for Holocaust Research (Yad Vashem)
Arusyak Julhakyan
Member of the Parliament of Armenia
Jorien Wuite
Member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands
Karin Kneissl
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Austria
Klotilda Bushka
Member of the Parliament of Albania
Sophia Voultepsi
Member of the Parliament of Greece
Pernille Weiss
Member of the European Parliament for Denmark
Dragoljub Popovic
Former Judge, European Court of Human Rights
Michael Lederer
Executive Vice President of International Affairs & Executive Education, Furtwangen University
Uli Brückner
Jean Monnet Professor
For European Studies, Stanford University Berlin
Tomáš Zdechovský
Member of the European Parliament for Czech Republic
Małgorzata Tracz
Member of the Polish Parliament
Göran Lambertz
Former Chancellor of Justice of Sweden
Mmantsetsa Marope
Former General Director of the IBE-UNESCO
Rui Duarte Barros
Former Prime Minister of Guinea-Bissau
Nouzha Skalli
Former Minister of Social Development, Family, and Solidarity of Morocco